Announcing the 2010 Challenge!

January 8, 2010 at 1:49 pm (connection, January Challenge) (, )

Here’s what moves me today: Changing the concept of my blog! That being said, I’ve taken the liberty of changing my blog name from “What Moves Me” to “The 2010 Challenge”. The concept is as simple as this: Rather than having a new year’s resolution for the entire year, I’ll have twelve: one for each month of the year. I once read somewhere that it takes 30 days of consistent practice to develop a new habit or to break an old one. This being said, every month I’ll bring a particular challenge to the table and I’ll commit myself to this challenge for the entire month. Throughout the month, I’ll check in with you to let you know how it’s going, how I’ve changed (or not changed), and what I’ve learned. Ready?

The January Challenge: Make an effort to genuinely connect with the people around me.

Here is the typical conversation that occurs each time I make a purchase at my local grocery store.

Clerk: Hi, how are you doing?
Me: I’m doing well, thanks. How about you?
Clerk: I’m alright. Did you find everything you were looking for today?
Me: Yep; I sure did.
Clerk: That’ll be $32.08.
Me: Ok.
Clerk: Thanks. Have a good day!
Me: You too.

Now, there is nothing at all wrong with this conversation. It is completely polite. It is normal. It is even expected. And yet, what I’ve come to realize is that that is how I interact with a majority of the people that I come into contact with. The words that come out of my mouth are the words that are expected, acceptable. After awhile it’s as if I become like a robot, saying the same things over and over but without any real intention behind them. My interactions begin to occur on the surface instead of coming from within me. Although this habit is comfortable for me, it is not a habit that recognizes or acknowledges the humanity of another.

This January, I challenge myself to break out of this comfort zone. I challenge myself to genuinely connect to those with whom I come into contact. Instead of putting my head down and ignoring the stranger on the street, can I look him in the eyes, smile, and give a genuine “hello”? Instead of staying silent around the people I’m close to, can I tell them that they’re wonderful or that I’ve really appreciated what they’ve done for me? (and can I truly mean it?) Whether I come into contact with strangers, friends, or loved ones, can I open my heart further and truly see them for who they are?

And if I can do this, how will it change my world? (and the worlds of those around me?)

The challenge begins today.

2 Comments

  1. kels said,

    i LOVE it!

  2. A Summary of Month One « The 2010 Challenge said,

    […] not posting anything for quite some time. However, have no worries- I haven’t forgotten about my resolution . In fact, quite the contrary has ocurred. I’ve thought about it every day during almost […]

Leave a Reply

